Skip to Content
Experienced New England Attorneys

Paralysis Types and Your Rights

person in wheelchair

Being paralyzed is one of the most devastating things that can happen to a person. Not only does it mean losing the use of your limbs, but it also often leads to a loss of independence and a dramatically reduced quality of life. While losing the feeling in any part of your body can be life-altering, it is important to know the various types of paralysis.

Different Types of Paralysis

There are many different types of paralysis that can occur as a result of an injury or illness. Paralysis can come in four different types:

  • Complete Paralysis
  • Partial Paralysis
  • Localized Paralysis
  • Generalized Paralysis

Complete Paralysis

Complete paralysis is the loss of all motor function and sensation below the level of the injury. When complete paralysis occurs, the affected individual cannot move any part of the paralyzed body part. In addition, individuals with complete paralysis may also experience loss of sensation, including the ability to feel touch, temperature, and pain.

Partial Paralysis

Incomplete paralysis is a type of paralysis that is characterized by the partial loss of muscle function. This can be caused by damage to the nervous system, muscles, or bones. While incomplete paralysis can occur in any part of the body, it is most common in the arms and legs.

Localized Paralysis

Localized paralysis is the loss of muscle function in a specific area of the body. It can be caused by a variety of factors, including physical trauma, nerve damage, and disease. In some cases, localized paralysis may only result in a temporary loss of muscle function. However, in other cases, the paralysis may be permanent.

Generalized Paralysis

Generalized paralysis is, as its name suggests, a more broad form of paralysis and is determined by how much of the body is affected. Generalized paralysis primarily appears in four forms:

Monoplegia - Paralysis that only affects one limb.

Hemiplegia - Paralysis of one side of the body.

Paraplegia - Partial or complete paralysis of the lower body.

Quadriplegia/Tetriplegia - A paralysis in which all four limbs are affected.

Receiving Your Deserved Compensation

If you have been paralyzed as the result of an accident, you may be entitled to receive compensation for your injuries. The amount of compensation you are eligible to receive will depend on a number of factors, including the severity of your injuries, the impact on your quality of life, and the extent of your financial losses. To receive compensation, you must prove that another party's negligence caused your paralysis. An experienced personal injury attorney can help you gather the necessary documentation and build a strong case for compensation.

Boston, Massachusetts Catastrophic Injury Attorneys

At Crowe & Harris, LLP, our attorneys have considerable experience representing clients who have been paralyzed as a result of someone else’s negligence. We understand the significant challenges that our clients face and we are dedicated to helping them obtain the compensation they need and deserve.

If someone’s negligence caused you to suffer a catastrophic injury, call us today at (617) 404-3417 or fill out our online form for a free initial consultation.

Share To: